Lisa McElroy’s fun novel Called On “may be this generation’s One L

“Lisa McElroy perfectly captures the pressures, challenges, and triumphs of both teaching and studying the law. Filled with big, memorable personalities, Called On is an utterly charming depiction of the 1L experience.” — Alafair Burke, New York Times bestselling author of The Ex

“McElroy nails law school—from first-day jitters to gunners and back-benchers—in a funny, perceptive, and poignant (but never predictable) first novel. Grab a Diet Coke and a handful of M&Ms and settle in; once you start reading, you won’t want to stop.” — Amy Howe, co-founder & editor, SCOTUSblog

“In Called On, Lisa McElroy deftly chronicles the stories of law professor Connie Shun and first year law student Libby Behl, each of whom is trying to move past tragedy and forge a new path for herself. The intersection of their lives is both humorous and heartbreaking. In this thoughtful and thought-provoking commentary on life, love, and the law, McElroy demonstrates the rare gift to simultaneously entertain, educate, uplift, and inspire.” — Pam Jenoff, bestselling author of The Kommandant’s Girl

“This remarkable book showcases all the traits that make Lisa McElroy such an amazing teacher: a deep understanding of legal issues, a superb ability to connect them to the real world, and a wry, compassionate understanding of her fellow humans in all their flawed splendor. Plus, she can flat-out tell a story. If you never made it to law school—and even if you never wanted to—don’t miss the chance to get Called On.” — Kermit Roosevelt, bestselling author of Allegiance and In the Shadow of the Law

“Lisa McElroy has provided us with a fresh and modern take on life in law school. The story is told through the eyes of an idealist, who enters law school with the best of intentions only to find that law can be as messy as love. This book is a must read for anyone thinking about taking the plunge into law school.” — Shon Hopwood, author of Law Man

Called On is Legally Blonde—kicked up a notch. This hilarious first novel follows the heroine through the first year of law school and her encounters with law, justice, first love, and loss. Set aside a rainy weekend to devour this fun read, perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Elin Hildenbrand.” — Paula Froelich, Yahoo Travel Editor-in Chief and host of A Broad Abroad; New York Times bestselling author of Mercury in Retrograde

“I didn’t go to law school, but author Lisa McElroy did, and that’s a great thing for readers of fiction. McElroy uses her personal experience as both a law student and law professor to create a world of high stakes studies, complex personal relationships, and meaningful discussions of themes like liberty and justice. Called On is a complete first novel, expertly conceived and skillfully written. Memorable, vivid, and true—the story of two women, one student and one prof, who find themselves in the law.” — Lian Dolan, bestselling author of Helen of Pasadena and Elizabeth the First Wife

Called On may be this generation’s One L, narrating the modern law school experience with all its stress, cut-throat competitiveness, inflated egos, flaws, and triumphs. Early on, the main character observes, ‘From what I hear, law school is full of surprises.’ Author Lisa McElroy turns that into an understatement, with plot twists that make Called On a true page-turner. Anyone who has been to law school, teaches there, or knows lawyers will instantly recognize one or more of McElroy’s vivid characters.” — Tony Mauro, Supreme Court Correspondent for The National Law Journal

PAPERBACK available at the Quid Pro order page for this book (fulfilled securely by Amazon), as well as such booksellers as Amazon.comBarnes & NobleBooksAMillion.com, YBP Library Services, and Ingram catalog. Contact us for group sales, volume discounts, and wholesale (or use Ingram).

HARDCOVER available at as such booksellers as Amazon.comBarnes & NobleBooksAMillion.com, YBP Library Services, and Ingram catalog.

Also available in quality eBook formats:

Amazon for Kindle.

Barnes & Noble for Nook.

At Apple iBooks and iTunes bookstore (preview online).

And at Google Play (in app on Nexus and android devices), as well as Google Books.

Also found in ePUB format at SmashwordsKobobooks, Axis360, Oyster, and many other eBook sources.

See the substantive and detailed review of this book by a practicing lawyer and member of the National Book Critics’ Circle, in Houston Law Review’s online site here.

Cataloging: CALLED ON, by Lisa McElroy

ISBN 9781610273268 (pbk.); list price US $18.99
ISBN 9781610273251 (cloth, jacket); list price US $31.99
ISBN 9781610273244 (eBook); list price US $7.99
ASIN B015K1JVJY (Kindle)
Page count: 260 pp.
Publication date: October 13, 2015